Is Ice Cream Gluten Free?

Whether it be kids or adults, most people relish having creamy, sweet ice creams, especially during the summer months when we feel drained out due to the scorching heat of the sun.
In the modern world, if a person feels like having an ice cream, he can have a number of options to choose from. Not only are ice creams available in different flavors but they are also available in different forms, like ice cream cones, ice cream sandwiches etc. However, most people don’t know what ice creams are made up of and they often ask, is ice cream gluten free?

Gluten free ice cream cones
Gluten free ice cream cones

We cannot come up with a single answer for this question because whether or not an ice cream is gluten free largely depends on two factors, which is the flavor of the ice cream and the company which produces it. There is a common celiac urban legend that states that many ice creams contain wheat as a filler ingredient but this fact is not true as there is hardly any ice cream producing company that uses wheat as a main ingredient for producing such ice creams. It is however interesting to know that there are certain flavors that are rich in gluten like chocolate chips, Oreo or cookie dough.
Gluten rich food has adverse effect on people who are celiac sensitive and so they should follow a gluten free diet. Reading the label before buying is the best way to find out whether an ice cream contains gluten or not. In some labels of the ice cream the words “gluten-free” is clearly mentioned and so these are perfectly safe for people who are celiac sensitive or gluten sensitive. It is wise to buy ice creams produced by reputed brands especially those that avoid making flavors that contain gluten.

It is interesting to note that some common flavors like strawberry, chocolate without chocolate chips and vanilla are safe to be consumed as any person as these flavors does not contain gluten. Other than these three, all the other flavors are prone to having gluten in their ingredient just to enhance the taste. Gluten sensitive people should also avoid having ice cream cakes, cones and ice cream sandwiches as they always contain gluten in certain percentage.

People who wants to follow a gluten free diet should not sacrifice having ice creams altogether but they simply need to choose the right flavor and the right brand of ice cream.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *